Friday, August 27, 2010

The seven finalists for 2010-2011 Maryland Teacher of the Year have been named.

"This year's talented finalists demonstrate unwavering dedication to teaching and academic achievement of all Maryland's students. They are masters in their field and an important reason Maryland education has been ranked number one in the nation for the second consecutive year," said Dr. Nancy S. Grasmick, State Superintendent of Schools. "These educators, unequivocally, deserve our gratefulness and acknowledgement, as well as our respect.

"The finalists (in alphabetical order by jurisdiction) include: Doris L. O'Donnell, Calvert County; Mark S. Howell, Charles County; Michelle Shearer, Frederick County; Lisa Mullen, Harford County; Matthew Kinloch, Howard County; James Schafer, Montgomery County; and Tiffany Doster, Prince George's County.The finalists were selected by a panel of judges from key Maryland education organizations representing principals, teachers, school boards, teacher unions, parents and higher education. Finalists were measured against a rigorous set of national criteria that include teaching philosophy, community involvement, knowledge of general education issues, and suggestions for professional and instructional improvement. Oral interviews with the seven finalists will be conducted on Saturday, September 11th.The 2010-2011 Maryland Teacher of the Year will be announced during a gala reception and dinner at Martin's West on October 8th. The winner will receive cash awards, technology equipment, national travel opportunities, and a new car valued at over $25,000, donated by Maryland Automobile Dealers Association.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Photos of the 2010 Parental Engagement Conference

Your pictures and fotos in a slideshow on MySpace, eBay, Facebook or your website!view all pictures of this slideshow

The Middle School Years

Visits From Engaged Parents and Dedicated Educators